5 Comments

23 out of 50! 2014 is almost over and I have 27 books to read to reach my goal.

I need to get cracking… cracking books that is. I set a goal to read 50 books in 2014. I thought no problem I’m always reading but It is the middle of Oct and I’m not even half way. UGH! Here are a couple book reviews of books I’ve read in the last little bit.

Longtime crush

I loved the story and the characters were absolutely wonderful. My only problem is I wanted it to go on and on. It is a quick and easy read. If you don’t have a lot of time but need a little romance pick me up than this is the story for you.

The best of Me

Nicholas Sparks is the master of romance. He knows how to pull on your heart strings. He is also very good at exploring relationships. Not just those between a man and a woman but with families and friends too. In this book I enjoyed the many different characters and their stories that tie them all together. It jumps around to many points of view which made it interesting. You’re even in the bad guys head. The main love story between Amanda and Dawson is sweet but I found myself a little detached from really rooting for them. I skimmed a lot of the story and their time together. Dawson sounds like a wonderful guy with some hard breaks but he’s a bit of a recluse. He never dates another woman after Amanda; for 20 plus years!? That seems weird to me. If they were truly soul mates and couldn’t live without each other then why did he tell her to leave? And why did she go without much of a fight? Fast forward 20 years to Amanda and her issues with her marriage and it felt like an easy way to rationalize an affair. I’m not saying if an affair happened or not but I wasn’t really buying into her marital problems. Things do become really exciting in the end and you have to read on to find out what happens. I don’t want to give any spoilers but some of the coincidences were a little too far of a stretch for me. Something I really enjoyed in the story was the paranormal aspect of it. That was a nice twist that kept things mysterious.

Check back for more reviews as I will be reading a lot the next couple of months. Do you think I can do it?

5 comments on “23 out of 50! 2014 is almost over and I have 27 books to read to reach my goal.

  1. I ABSOLUTELY believe you can do it! Good luck!

    • Hopefully I will have a couple of your books to read…. (crossing fingers)

      • There will at least be 2 books ready by the end of the year. One is a new book called “Savage Run,” (will be completed in less than a month) and I will most likely have both Blufire and the Third book in the Viking Blood Saga completed by mid-late December.
        But 23 books is awesome! I should read more too! I’m reading Outlander right now, and love it.

  2. Oh Evelyn that is great news! I can’t wait to read the sequels. And a new book? You amaze me. I read Outlander a long time ago and loved it. Did you get to watch the new TV series on Starz? My husband ordered the movie channels just so I could watch it. I haven’t read the continued books yet even though I own the first three. I was so exhausted after book one I needed a break. You’ll know what I mean when you finish. Unfortunately, I haven’t picked them back up. Maybe I will. I hope all is well with you. Can’t wait to read your new books. Keep it up!

    • Hi, Yes, I did watch Outlander on Starz (though not all the first few episodes since we were moving), and I loved them! That’s what made me start reading the book. I’m about halfway through the first one. Hope all is well with you, too. We love New York (Long Island), and are super excited about having snow this winter (we just moved from Florida). Keep up your reading; I’ll be cheering for you! I know you can do it!

Leave a Reply

Johnny Reads

All things books, all the time

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Real Tasty Pages

I like to read big books and I cannot lie......

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

