1 Comment

Summer Reading FUN!

I’ve been on a reading rampage recently. I’ve read a vampire paranormal series, a rock your world dystopia, and a tear-jerker contemporary. As a writer, I think reading is some of the best preparation you can do. I find I go through stages. Like right now I’m reading everything I can get my hands on. The next step is to write like crazy. My least favorite part but a necessary evil is editing. In the last month I’ve read six books. I’ll post my reviews below with a 1 – 5 star rating. Enjoy! I love sharing my book report with others in hopes I help you find your next favorite book.

 

 

Marked HONbetrayed HONchosen-HONuntamed-HON

For the Paranormal series I’ve been reading House of Night series by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast. Which is actual a reread for me and not because I loved it so much but because I received the first four books in the series for my birthday. Years back I had stopped reading because I became frustrated with the main character and her normal teenager mistakes. Rereading it has given me a new appreciation for the story and the MC.  If you like a good vampire high school book this will not disappoint with plenty of sexual vampire tension and high school drama. I’m not done with the series so I’ll read on and maybe it will receive a higher rating as the characters develop. I give this series, so far, a 3 star. 

 

 

Divergent

The next book I read was Divergent by Veronica Roth which is a dystopia and people kept comparing it to Hunger Games. I truly enjoyed this book. The characters are so real and you’re involved in what happens to them. When they hurt you hurt. The writing is gripping and keeps you needing to know more. This is the first book in a trilogy and they are far from being out of danger. I’m going out to pick up book two Insurgent as soon as possible. They are also filming the movie right now and should be released in March 2014. Veronica is a wonderful writer and I just saw on her blog that the third book Allegiant will be released this October. Yipee! I think this is a book my husband would like too. It isn’t to mushy and romantic but enough to keep me happy but it has plenty of action to keep the men happy. A great read! I give this book a 5 star. 

 

 

BabyProof

Next book I read is a contemporary and my mom suggested I read it. Baby Proof by Emily Giffin.  I finished this book in 1 day. It made me cry, a lot. I was very sad to see Claudia and Ben’s marriage fall apart. Me and my husband are a “no kids” couple and I completely understood the issues they dealt with. There was lots of different family dynamics going on with Claudia and it was all very interesting. The sort of narrative point of view with flash blacks thrown in was very moving and kept you wanting more. I am the kind of reader who usually likes to check out and leave reality when I read a book and even though this story is a lot of truth and real life experiences, I enjoyed it. Emily Giffin is a great writer and I’m interested in picking up her other novels when I need a good cry and a dose of reality.  I give this book a 4 star. 

I hope this helps you find your next summer read. If you have any suggested books for me please do share. I love recommendations. 

One comment on “Summer Reading FUN!

  1. Good comments!

Leave a Reply

Johnny Reads

All things books, all the time

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Real Tasty Pages

You can find me in a Book or a Make Up store!

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

