Leave a comment

Writing historical fiction can be tricky business

royal carriages

As a author, I find my membership in writing groups extremely beneficial  Lucky for me we have an excellent historical fiction author who happens to be a history major in my writers group. At our recent meeting I read from my W.I.P, this marvelous scene where Princess Kristina first see’s the grand castle from her carriage. Joyce DiPastena mentioned carriages may not have been used to travel in the 13th century. Sure enough, I researched and found 15th century is when carriages were invented and used in a more popular fashion by the royals. It took some reworking of my first chapter but now at least it’s historically correct. That is the tricky thing about writing historical fiction, you need to be correct in your research. I Google  and Wikipedia a lot while writing my WIP. Joyce conducts a helpful research blog for medieval times http://medievalresearch.blogspot.com/ where she suggests, “The Middle Ages covered a period of 1000 years. Once you have chosen the exact time setting of your medieval novel or story, it is vital that you double-check “generalized medieval facts” to be sure that they coincide with the specific sub-period that you have chosen.”

To learn more about Joyce’s novels check out her blog at (http://jdp-news.blogspot.com/)

Anybody else have tips or good advice on writing historical fiction?

Now that I’ve reworked the scene I’ll share it with you here:

     “Princess Kristina, look we can see the castle from here!” Olina reached out grabbing my hand and squeezed.  

     My heart beat in haste. The day had finally arrived. I squeezed Olina’s hand in return, her support calmed me. Over the next hill, a majestic castle stood with spirals reaching into the sky and a village surrounded the castle like worshipers to a great sculpture. This castle with all its grand immensity would be my new home.   

     “I will meet my husband today, a man I have never set eyes on before,” committing it to words made my throat dry up. I looked behind to the large caravan of horses and wagons that had made the trek. When I turned to Olina, who rode close to my side, her light blue eyes danced with excitement. Her beauty reminded me, if not for being my handmaiden, a fine gentleman would have swept her away and married her back in Norway.

 

Leave a Reply

Johnny Reads

All things books, all the time

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Capable Fitness

Being confronted with adversity in your life is inevitable. Just keep in mind that it does not have to defeat you. Adversity is often short lived. Giving up is what makes it permanent. As a certified fitness professional, this blog is my way of helping you feel capable of anything.

Real Tasty Pages

I like to read big books and I cannot lie......

All Romance Reads

Get Your Swoon On

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Hit or Miss Books

Honest book reviews for the Young Adult, New Adult and Adult categories.

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

